On Wednesday, May 3, 2017, we celebrated Scholarship and Fellowship when the RCFC Scholarship Committee and this year’s scholarship winners helped to celebrate and declare our support for higher education.  As always, scholarships were funded through the RCFC Member generosity and the families of two former Rotarians.  The Morrison Memorial Scholarship was established by Mrs. June Ogden in memory of her father, James Morrison, who served as Director of Cooperative Extension at Colorado A & M.  The Richard W. Schump Memorial Scholarship was established by David and Liz Schump in memory of their son, Richard.  The scholarship is generously continued by the Schump family after the untimely death of David and Liz in 2011.  
2017 Rotary Scholarship Winners:
Amanda Burk – Poudre High – CSU – Chemical/Biological Engineering
Jessica Block – Rocky Mountain High – CSU – Business/Art
Rachel Holland – Rocky Mountain High – CSU – Kinesiology/Health & Exercise Science
Zayne Hoyland – Fort Collins High –  CSU - Psychology
Andrew Larson – Front Range Community College – FRCC – Pre-med/Biology
Kim Pannell – Poudre High – CSU – Business Administration
Ashley Schilling – Fossil Ridge High – CSU – Animal Science/Agricultural Education
Sahand Setareh – Fossil Ridge High – CSU – Political Science/International Studies
2017 James Morrison Memorial Scholarship
Thany Dykson  - Fort Collins High – CSU- Wildlife Biology/Journalism
2017 Richard W. Schump Memorial Scholarship
Chloe Schaub – Poudre High – CSU – Wildlife Biology/Forestry/Sustainability
This year your Rotary Scholarship Committee reviewed more than 60 applications, interviewed 15 students and selected 10 recipients based on need, scholarship, community service and leadership.  This required many dedicated hours from our Rotarians and PSD counseling staff.  The students exhibited great skills, talents, creativity, work ethic and service to our community.  According to the committee, each of our recipients is very deserving of our financial support.  Rotarians who participated in the selection and the planning of our celebration include Phyllis Abt, Del Benson, Betty Brown, Jean Griswold, Susan Gutowsky, Jud Harper, Judy Lane, Sally Lee, Rob Marschke, Bob Meroney, Ralph Smith, Robin Steele and Henry Weisser.